Perris Auto SpeedwayPerris Auto Speedway
Home Page
The Track
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Schedule
Press Releases
Race Results
Point Standings
Official Rules
Driver Information
Driver Rosters
Track Champions
Special Events
Corporate Hospitality
Track Rentals
Contact Us





(Perris, CA, November 6, 2012)
Wiley Miller and Steve Ostling recorded wins in the PAS Senior Sprint Car Series at the 17th Annual Budweiser Oval Nationals last Friday and Saturday night and Bruce Douglass put the finishing touches on his first ever PAS title before a large, enthusiastic crowd on Saturday. 

Miller, a four-time VRA Senior Sprint champion, led every inch of the way in Friday night's 20-lap main event. The Yorba Linda resident started the race on the pole and led the first circuit over defending series champion Bill Badger of Santa Clarita and Santa Fe Springs racer Ed Schwarz. 

Douglass hustled his bright blue #31 sprint car from fifth to third on lap two passing Badger, who was his closest pursuer in the championship chase. Rick Hendrix of Palmdale, who has notches on his belt for the 1998 USAC Western Midget, 2002 USAC Western Sprint Car and 1992 USAC Three-Quarter Midget championships, made his PAS Senior Sprint debut and found his way into the top three by the end of the fifth go round. 

The top three did not change the rest of the way and Miller, who retired after the race, recorded his first win of 2012 by a half straightaway. Douglass second place finish allowed him to increase his point lead to 15 over Badger heading into Saturday's season finale. Schwarz and Badger finished behind Hendrix to round out the top five in the main. 

Schwarz and Simi Valley's Victor Davis won the heat races on Friday.

With Miller retired, Corona's Steve Ostling jumped into the same #75x that Miller drove to the win on Friday night. Ostling, who will turn 50 this month, had not raced in five years, but after shaking off the rust in his heat race, he was the man to beat in the main event.

Badger led the first 10 circuits from his pole position starting spot, but Ostling methodically made his way to the front from the third row to wrestle the lead away on lap 11. Once out front Ostling simply drove away from the pack.

Just to add a little drama to the affair, Douglass and Hendrix got together in turn one and brought a yellow flag. They both restarted at the rear and championship chasing Douglass' steering wheel was almost bent into his lap.

When the checkered ended the race, the exhausted Ostling had a half straight advantage over Badger. Davis raced home third with Schwartz and Douglass rounding out the top five.

Douglass drive back to the front allowed him to secure his first ever PAS championship by a mere six-points over Badger. Davis, Schwartz and Miller finished third, fourth and fifth in the season long title chase.

When the points were tabulated after the race, Douglass won the title by a mere six-points over Badger. Davis finished third overall with Schwarz and Miller fourth and fifth. 

Earlier on Saturday night Davis and Hendrix won the preliminary heat races.

In a drawing for drivers who had made every race all season long or who had just missed one, "Hubcap" Mike Collins won a brand new chassis courtesy of John Aden's 777 Chassis Company. 

The PAS Senior Sprint Car Series is open to drivers 45-years old and older. The only other major rule is the cars have to be cast iron block 360 engines. There are no tire, weight or gasket rules. It is old school style "run whatcha' brung' racing." If you would like to compete please call: (951) 940-0134.

The remaining 2012 PAS schedule is listed at the end of this release.

To keep up with all of the latest Perris Auto Speedway news, photos, gossip and receive special offers, sign up at The PAS Facebook site at: - !/pages/Perris-Auto-Speedway/11387679868

You can also keep up with the latest news and receive special offers from The PAS Twitter site:

Perris Auto Speedway wants to thank its corporate sponsors for the 2012 season. 1-800LoanMart, 777 Racecars, Aaron's, Ahern Rentals, All Coast Construction, Amsoil, Ayers Hotel and Spa, Budweiser, Champion Towing, City of Perris, Comfort Inn, Day Construction, Daytona Boat & RV Storage, Frazee Paint, Hoosier Tires, K&N Engineering, P.I.P.E., Pepsi-Cola, Pick-A-Part Auto Salvage, Prolong Super Lubricants, Scott Sales, Snap-on, Soboba Casino, Square H, Swedish Speed, Temecula Valley Pipe & Supply, Trench Shoring, US Foods, Valley Auto Salvage, White Nuckl USA and Zanzabuku Sports Lounge.

Video and DVD productions of all racing events at Perris Auto Speedway are available from Loudpedal Productions. For more information on these productions you can contact them by calling (805) 844-3854, E-mailing or you can visit the web site

For more information call The PAS at: (951) 940-0134.

Perris Auto Speedway is located on the Lake Perris Fairgrounds (home of October’s Southern California Fair), approximately one hour east of Los Angeles and one hour North of San Diego. To get to the track, take the 215 freeway, exit on the Ramona Expressway and go three miles east to the fairgrounds. is the only authorized Internet address to issue official media news released from The Perris Auto Speedway or Oval Entertainment

Friday PAS Senior Main Event (with starting positions): 1. Wiley Miller (1st), 2. Bruce Douglass (7th), 3. Rick Hendrix (3rd), 4. Ed Schwarz (4th), 5. Bill Badger (2nd), 6. Mike Collins (10th), 7. Victor Davis (5th), 8. Jesse Denome (6th), 9. Eric Rickard (8th), 10. Tony Lima (9th)

Saturday PAS Senior Sprint Main (with starting positions): 1. Steve Ostling (5th), 2. Bill Badger (1st), 3. Victor Davis (4th), 4. Ed Schwarz (7th), 5. Bruce Douglass (2nd), 6. Rick Hendrix (3rd), 7. Eric Rickard (8th), 8. Tony Lima (6th), 9. Steve Robinette (9th)

1. Bruce Douglass - Ventura - 546
2. Bill Badger - Santa Clarita - 540
3. Victor Davis - Simi Valley - 504
4. Ed Schwarz - Santa Fe Springs - 432
4. Wiley Miller - Yorba Linda - 417
6. Mike Collins - Lake Forest - 402
7. Eric Rickard - Carson - 316
8. Brian Williams - Newport Beach - 249
9. Bob Aldermann - Santa Inez - 163
10. Steve Robinette - Vista - 144


November 21st - Practice for the 72nd Running of the Turkey Night Grand Prix - Free for fans in the grandstands

November 22 - 72nd Running of the Turkey Night Grand Prix for the Mopar USAC National and Western Midgets

November 23 & 24 - 1-800LoanMart Street Stock Turkey Bowl $22,500.00 purse