Perris Auto SpeedwayPerris Auto Speedway
Home Page
The Track
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Schedule
Press Releases
Race Results
Point Standings
Official Rules
Driver Information
Driver Rosters
Track Champions
Special Events
Corporate Hospitality
Track Rentals
Contact Us





(AUGUST 17, 2010, PERRIS, CA) The “Thunder from Down Under,” Stephan Davies, led the final 14-laps to post the win in the PASSCAR Street Stock main event last Saturday night, August 14th, at Perris Auto Speedway. 

Starting inside the fourth row, Davies did not take the top spot until lap six when he passed impressive Anthony Merritt for the top spot. Once out from Davies never looked back in the race that went green to checkered without a caution. Consistent front runner Jake Everhart was forced out while running second on lap 13. That put Merritt back in the runnerup spot and he stayed there until the 18th circuit when two time champion and current point leader Curtis Dietzsch got by. When the checkered ended the event, Davies had a half straight lead over Dietzsch. Merritt, Ken McWilliams and 16-year old Dalton Everhart rounded out the top five at the finish.

Brian Pannone, who spent a couple of years in North Carolina, won his first race since returning when he bested the field in the 20-lap PASSCAR Super Stock (West Coast Street Stock) main event. Brent Ashurst, who won in his initial appearance at The PAS in August, came home in the runner-up spot and was followed by 2009 champ and current point leader Ken Searcy, Chad Burns (who had a flat tire) and Patrick Tone.

Alan Updyke continued his dominance in the Modified class after taking the lead on lap 13 from Eddie Morris. At the end, Updyke had an eight-length advantage over Morris with Chris Thompson. The Sport Mods ran their main at the same time and longtime veteran Johnny Lathrop captured the victory. 

Perhaps the most anticipated race on the night was the Pick-A-Part USA Factory Stock main event. Irwin Markwardt, who won the fan raffle in August, was getting his chance to drive. Starting at the back of his heat, Markwardt top scored the six lapper with 114 points (combined from passing points and finish position). In the main he started eighth and in what looked like it would be a story book finish, was running third when he ran out of gas with two laps to go. Point leader Steve “Bam Bam” Fangmeyer picked up his third win in his last four starts when he beat Keith Wood and Tom Gillum to the checkered.

Donnie Ganson made his first appearance in a California Lightning Sprint Car in 3 ½ years and led every lap of the topless main event on the track’s inner quarter mile oval. Jarrett Kramer, who won the previous race at Bakersfield, was second with championship point standings leader A.J. Bender third.

Dave Lambert of Port Hueneme won his first ever-main event in the NMRA Ύ Midgets and Kevin Drake won both his heat and the main in the CDCRA Dwarf Cars.

The PASSCAR series will return to The PAS on Saturday night, September 11th.

You can keep up with all of the latest news from Perris Auto Speedway on Twitter at: 

For more information call The PAS at: (951) 940-0134.

Perris Auto Speedway is located on the Lake Perris Fairgrounds (home of October’s Southern California Fair), approximately one hour east of Los Angeles and one hour North of San Diego. To get to the track, take the 215 freeway, exit on the Ramona Expressway and go three miles east to the fairgrounds.

Video and DVD productions of all racing events at Perris Auto Speedway are available from Jeff Kristensen’s Raceway Video. For more information on these productions you can call: (818) 618-9764 or visit the web site at: 

Perris Auto Speedway is on the Lake Perris Fairgrounds (home of the Southern California Fair), approximately one hour east of Los Angeles and one hour North of San Diego. To get to the track, take the 215 freeway, exit on the Ramona Expressway and go two miles east to the fairgrounds. is the only authorized Internet address to issue official media news released from The Perris Auto Speedway or Oval Entertainment

Street Stock Main Event (20 Laps)
Stephan Davies - Murrieta 
Curtis Dietzsch – Moreno Valley 
Anthony Merritt - Hemet 
Ken McWilliams - Menifee 
Dalton Everhart - Perris 
Jim Rook – Nuevo 
Tony Lima – Costa Mesa 
Jeremy Culp – Nuevo 
Blaine Whitson Jr. – Murrieta 
Steve McCain – Lake Elsinore 
Jake Everhart – Perris 
Joe Shuagis – Corona

Modified Main Event (20 Laps)
Alan Updyke – Tustin 
Eddie Morris - Ramona 
Chris Thompson - Romoland 
Jeff Neeley – Garden Grove 
Scott Calvin – Moreno Valley 
Middy Boggio – Riverside

Sport Mod Main Event (20 Laps)
Johnny Lathrop – Riverside 
J.D. Wilson – Costa Mesa

Super Stock Main Event (20 Laps)
Brian Pannone - Riverside 
Brent Ashurt – Westmoreland 
Ken Searcy – Nuevo 
Chad Burns – Mira Loma 
Patrick Tone – Huntington Beach 
Glen Dederick – Desert Hot Springs 
Blain Whitson - Murrieta

Pick-A-Part Factory Stocks (20 Laps)
Steven Fangmeyer - Nuevo 
Keith Wood - Hemet 
Tom Gillum – Riverside 
Jeff Gillum - Hemet 
Tim Pyle – Anaheim 
Stephanie Herbage – Perris 
Brian Bacher – Chino 
J.B. Clark – Winchester 
Irwin Markwardt – Anaheim 
Mike Burks Sr. – Nuevo 
David Nilson - Hemet

California Lightning Sprint Cars (20 Laps)
Donnie Ganson – Ontario 
Jarrett Kramer – Spring Valley 
A.J. Bender - Ramona 
Bobby Bender - Ramona 
Tim Moody – San Diego 
Dan Hillberg – Placentia 
Guy Maresch – Anaheim Hills 
Dale Gamer – Anaheim 
Alexander Bissett – Hemet 
Peter Benker – El Cajon 
Devin Hillberg – Corona 
Karl Von Yokes – Lakeside

NMRA Ύ Midgets
Dave Lambert – Port Hueneme 
Anthony Lopicalo – Brea 
West Evans – Moorpark 
Chuck West – Clovis 
Ron Ahrendt – Harbor City 
Amanda Thomas – La Habra 
Brian Baker – Bakersfield 
Dakota Scheweizer – Bakersfield

CDCRA Dwarf Cars
Kevin Drake 
Jim Lyon 
Randy Gordon 
Gordy Brand 
Bobby Lague